The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist 2017


It’s after midnight and I’m on a train, typing this on my phone. The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist 2017 has just been announced and my initial thought is: wow.

Wow that books I loved and hoped would be on the list are there: Midwinter by Fiona Melrose; The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry; The Power by Naomi Alderman; Stay With Me by Ayòbámi Adébáyo; First Love by Gwendoline Riley; The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear McBride; Little Deaths by Emma Flint.

Wow that I predicted seven of the list – my highest score ever.

Wow that there are 16 books, rather than the promised 12. It shows that the past 12 months have been exceptional for writing by women. However, with just over three weeks until the shortlist announcement, it does make things challenging for the Shadow Panel.

And wow that Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi isn’t on the list. Every year this prize misses an exceptional book and this is a stunning omission, made all the more noticeable when there are only three books by women of colour on a list of sixteen.

The list in full. I’ve linked to my reviews for those I’ve already covered and will add to this as I read the rest:

First Love – Gwendoline Riley

Stay With Me – Ayòbámi Adébáyo

Do Not Say We Have Nothing – Madeleine Thien

The Essex Serpent – Sarah Perry

The Dark Circle – Linda Grant

The Lesser Bohemians – Eimear McBride

The Mare – Mary Gaitskill

Barkskins – Annie Proulx

The Power – Naomi Alderman

Little Deaths – Emma Flint

The Woman Next Door – Yewande Omotoso

Hag-Seed – Margaret Atwood

The Gustav Sonata – Rose Tremain

The Lonely Hearts Hotel – Heather O’Neill

Midwinter – Fiona Melrose

The Sport of Kings – C.E. Morgan

13 thoughts on “The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist 2017

  1. Stunned that Homegoing isn’t on the list, I thought it was an incredible accomplishment, and in the vein of the qualities looked for by this prize, very surprised indeed. Great to see some new names among the familiar and a few titles from outside the mainstream. Impressed it was announced so early, I thought we’d have to wait till this evening to hear, better get my post going now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve only read one of them, Midwinter by Fiona Melrose, which I thought was amazing. I may have time to squeeze in one other before the shortlist is announced (only 3 weeks?!). Which would you recommend? I’m drawn to The Power as it sounds intriguing…

    Like

  3. Pingback: In the Media, March 2017, Part One | The Writes of Woman

  4. Pingback: The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Shadow Panel Shortlist | The Writes of Woman

Leave a comment