In the Media: 17th May 2015

In the media is a weekly round-up of features written by, about or containing female writers that have appeared during the previous week and I think are insightful, interesting and/or thought provoking. Linking to them is not necessarily a sign that I agree with everything that’s said but it’s definitely an indication that they’ve made me think. I’m using the term ‘media’ to include social media, so links to blog posts as well as traditional media are likely and the categories used are a guide, not definitives.

Two excellent UK prizes – the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize and the Desmond Elliot Prize announced their longlist and shortlist, respectively this week. The former has eleven women on a longlist of fifteen. Yes, that does say ELEVEN, that’s 75% of the shortlist (well, 73.3 if you’re being pedantic). And the latter is an ALL WOMEN shortlist of three, from a longlist of ten that had gender parity. Excellent news.

You can read interviews with two of the Desmond Elliot shortlisted writers, Cary Bray and Emma Healey, in The Bookseller

Two important pieces about sexual abuse and victim blaming were published this week: Hayley Webster ‘31 years have passed with me thinking I asked for it…but what if I didn’t‘ on her blog and Lizzie Jones, ‘Sexual Assault: Society, Stop With the Slut Shaming‘ on The Huffington Post.

 

The best of the rest:

On or about books/writers/language:

Personal essays/memoir:

Feminism:

Society and Politics:

Film, Television, Music and Fashion:

The interviews:

 

If you want some fiction to read:

If you want some poetry to read:

The lists:

4 thoughts on “In the Media: 17th May 2015

  1. Somos muchas las mujeres a las que nos gusta escribir, bien en medios telematicos ( blogs, redes sociales,etc) o en papel, este último medio tal vez sea el preferido, pero al que muy pocas tenemos acceso ya que no se nos da la oportunidad de hacerlo. Mientras eso sucede expresemosnos por aquí. Te leeré. Gracias. Un saludo

    Like

    • I don’t speak Spanish so with the aid of Google translate, I hope I’ve understood this correctly. Hello. Thank you. It’s my pleasure – I enjoy compiling the list, hope you enjoy reading.

      Like

  2. Am going to spend some worthwhile hours going through your links. so thank you for all the time you must have spent doing this….One request though? Can you put the links “opening in a new window”? pretty please? That way I can ensure I come back to you and spend even more time on your wonderful post, especially if I’ve gone off and commented elsewhere.

    kthxbai xxx

    Like

    • Thank you for reading, hope you find things you enjoy. I’ve just looked up how to do that (my browser does it automatically, so I hadn’t even thought about it) and it’s v.easy to do, so yes, of course, expect that to happen from next week.

      Like

Leave a comment