In the Media: 3rd August 2014

I’m introducing a new weekly feature to the blog, the premise of which is very simple: it’s a round-up of features written by, about or containing female writers that have appeared during the previous week and I think are insightful, interesting and/or thought-provoking. Linking to them is not necessarily a sign that I agree with everything that’s said but it’s definitely an indication that they’ve made me think. Also, just a note to make it clear that I’m using the term ‘media’ to include social media, so links to blog posts as well as traditional media are likely.

SH_L8762_ThisBookTop20.lowres

  • The Bailey’s Women’s Prize for fiction published the results of their #thisbook campaign to find the twenty books by female writers which changed people’s lives (you can read about mine here). The results were:
  1. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
  3. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  4. Harry Potter – J.K Rowling
  5. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
  6. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  7. Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
  8. Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
  9. The Secret History – Donna Tartt
  10. I Capture The Castle – Dodie Smith
  11. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
  12. Beloved – Toni Morrison
  13. Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  14. We Need To Talk About Kevin – Lionel Shriver
  15. The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
  16. Middlemarch – George Eliot
  17. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou
  18. The Golden Notebook – Doris Lessing
  19. The Colour Purple – Alice Walker
  20. The Women’s Room – Marilyn French

Is there anything I’ve missed that you think’s noteworthy? Let me know in the comments.

8 thoughts on “In the Media: 3rd August 2014

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Jacqui. I wasn’t sure how it’d go but I think there’s so much good stuff out there and it’s easy to miss things. Loved the podcast, I could listen to her for hours.

      Like

Leave a comment