Dear Thief – Samantha Harvey

In answer to a question you asked a long time ago, I have, yes, seen through what you called the gauze of this life.

So begins the letter the unnamed narrator of Dear Thief writes to her former friend, Nina or Butterfly, as she came to be known, over the six months between December 2001 and June 2002.

It’s seventeen years since they’ve seen each other but on Boxing Day night as the music from the jazz club a few doors down comes to an end and it begins to snow, the narrator thinks of Butterfly standing over her bed.

Does she think it was worth it? I wondered. This is what came to me when I pictured you there. Not: Is she happy, is she free, is she alive? – no. Does she think it was worth it?

The narrator goes on to intertwine stories about her current life with stories about the past and particularly her friendship with Butterfly.

She begins with a story about visiting her grandmother knowing she was on the verge of death. During the night, the narrator walked down to the river where she found a collection of bones before returning to her grandmother who died in her absence.

Currently, she lives in central London, near Russell Square, where she’s become friendly with Yannis, a Cretan who runs a Greek store, who is in the middle of a marital crisis. She’s lived there for two years, the flat paid for by the sale of her parents’ home which she inherited. She works full-time in a care home.

Working in the care home, talking to the residents and observing their behaviour, leads her to contemplate life and, of course, death:

…and it seems to me that this whole universe is a crime of passion. So reckless in its short-termism, wreaking such magnificent havoc on those who come to live in it, so unreasonable and grotesque and glorious and rampant and murderous, because nothing escapes it alive, yet nothing escapes it without having lived either, without having been zealously loved and brought to its knees – even if only once for a moment – by it.

Death – and, to some extent, life – could be the thief referenced in the title. The novel begins with a death, there is the death of a relationship, the death of a friendship, the death of members of the care home, the death of who you were when you were younger:

…I am talking about splintering. We hit certain points, we splinter, and bits of ourselves are left behind. I don’t know why this should be, only that time isn’t a slick medium that we slide through into old age, it is lumpy and irregular and breaks us into pieces…there is always freedom in the past. The self you left behind lives in endless possibility. The older you get, the bigger and wilder the past becomes, a place that can never again be tended and which is therefore prone to that loveliness which happens on wastelands and wilderness, where grass has grown over scrap metal and wheat has sprung up in cracks between concrete and there is no regular shape for the light to fall flat on, so it vaults and multiplies and you want to go there. You want to go there like you want to go to a lover.

What happened between the narrator and Butterfly for them to end their friendship is easily anticipated by the reader – it’s hinted at in the novel’s title. However, although the narrative partly drives us to the moment of revelation, it is Harvey’s language which is the most compelling feature. The structure of the letter meanders somewhat, as a real letter to a long lost friend might. We are told about Butterfly; about the narrator’s (ex)husband and son; about Yannis; about her work. But the language is stunning throughout. (I could have chosen so many quotations for this review; my copy of the novel is heavily highlighted.) Harvey considers the major themes of life, death and relationships, often referring to the ideas from major philosophers and theology. (She has a postgraduate qualification in Philosophy.)

Recently, Harvey was interviewed by Gaby Wood of the Telegraph. Wood questioned why Dear Thief hasn’t had more attention. Harvey’s editor, Dan Franklin says:

The really difficult thing about her is that she writes serious books, which is not to the modern taste. People like easy-peasy books that slip down without any trouble. How do you have a career in 2015 writing really thoughtful, philosophical books?

I’m not entirely convinced by this but I do think that because there are so many books published some that should have had more recognition get lost along the way. The thing I love most about the Bailey’s Women’s Fiction Prize is every year I come across two or three writers whom I’ve been intending to read and have never got round to. This year, Harvey is one of those.

Dear Thief is a stunning novel. When I said so on Twitter, people began to tell me that Harvey’s debut, The Wilderness, is even better; if that’s the case, I’ve a real treat in store.

 

Thanks to Jonathan Cape for the review copy.

23 thoughts on “Dear Thief – Samantha Harvey

  1. Beautiful review. Sounds like an interesting read. I really love these kinda genres , with a touch of edginess . This book definitely goes into my reading list 🙂

    Like

  2. I thought The Wilderness was extraordinary – written well before dementia became an almost commonplace theme and utterly convincing. All is Song, however, didn’t work for me at all. This sounds interesting, though.

    I have to take issue with Dan Franklin’s rather dismissive remarks. There are many thoughtful readers out there, happy to take on a challenging novel.

    Like

    • I will read it after the Bailey’s longlist then and see how it compares. Yes, I’m not convinced by Franklin’s remarks. I wonder whether the reduction in book pages in the broadsheets has contributed and it’s more difficult to reach the target audience for these types of books.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s true although there’s plenty of thoughtful opinion out there not to mention booksellers’ recommendations.. I would be interested to see sales figures for more ‘serious’ fiction. Commercial fiction has always outstripped it by far but I doubt that the public appetite for it has lessened in the way he suggests.

        Like

      • I read something recently that questioned how many broadsheet readers of a certain generation are even aware that book blogs exist. I have no evidence to support the comment but thought it was interesting.

        As for booksellers, you’ll know more than me – do many people ask for recommendations? I know I never have…

        The sales for Dear Thief are mentioned in the article – 1000 copies in hardback.

        Like

  3. I’m looking forward to reading this, I read The Wilderness when it first came out and thought it was excellent. I haven’t yet read All is Song although strangely enough I dug it out this week. Dan Franklin’s remarks have irritated me somewhat – I certainly don’t want “easy-peasy novels that slip down without any trouble”.

    Like

  4. Lovely review, Naomi. The quotes lead me believe that I’d like Harvey’s novels. It’s great to see the recommendations for The Wilderness, too – it’s one I’ve looked at in the past but never got around to buying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jacqui. I was thinking of you as I was trying to decide which to include! I think you’d like this too. I daren’t say how long I’ve had a copy of The Wilderness on the shelf; at least it will be read now!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Dear Thief by Samantha Harvey – Farm Lane Books Blog

  6. Pingback: The Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist 2015 | The Writes of Woman

  7. Pingback: The Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Longlist | The Writes of Woman

  8. Pingback: British Writing is not all Grey: Fiction Uncovered | The Writes of Woman

  9. Found your blog while searching for other people’s thoughts on Dear Thief, glad I found it! I am definitely going to seek out Samantha Harvey’s other novels, it’s so hard to separate the wheat from the chaff when trying to find the kind of novel that is genuinely thought provoking and stays with you long after you’ve finished it.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Pingback: Books of the Year, Part Two: 2015 Publications | The Writes of Woman

Leave a comment