My Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2017 Wishlist

screen-shot-2017-02-26-at-20-31-51

It’s almost that time of year again; The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist is announced on International Women’s Day, Wednesday 8th March. Once again, I’ll be charing a shadow panel, the other members of which I’ll introduce on Friday. Before both of those things though, I’m going to have a stab in the dark at what might be on the longlist. My success rate is why I refer to this post as my wishlist as opposed to a prediction.

This year the longlist has been reduced from 20 to 12 titles, making it easier to read along and debate what might make the shortlist. Eligible titles are those published between the 1st April 2016 and the 31st March 2017 and written in English.

I’ve reviewed all of the titles I’ve chosen except Stay With Me by Ayòbámi Adébáyò, which I’ll review this week, and Autumn by Ali Smith (which I’ve read but not yet reviewed); click on the covers of the other books to read my reviews.

j0trrhscovermethode2ftimes2fprod2fweb2fbin2ff48fd942-916d-11e6-91d4-91c7eaaf09d6

cover51w1xmznjfl9781509826575little20deaths

51y6zivk-el462742583041x52bsts9ul-_sx337_bo1204203200_

3134957941no-ogymgl-_sy344_bo1204203200_28390369

14 thoughts on “My Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2017 Wishlist

  1. My favourite prize time of the year! Great list. I’ll be posting mine on Wednesday although I’m taking the liberty of ignoring the rules and including just a few more. We overlap on three – Harmless Like You, The Essext Serpent and First Love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting that they’ve reduced it to twelve – I have to say that twenty always seemed a little excessive (like the BTBA’s twenty-five strong list, or the Dublin Prize’s super-long first list!).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would definitely root for Lisa McInerney’s The Blood Miracles (out before the end of the month, I think?) – what a stunner! I wasn’t at all keen on Harmless Like You, but I think I’m in the minority there…

    Like

    • You’re the second person to mention The Blood Miracles (I haven’t read it yet) but I’ve got the publication date as April. Don’t know if that’s been changed.

      I found Harmless Like You absorbing and loved the realization at the end of what Yuki had really been desiring.

      Like

      • Ah, it looks like you’re right about April; I think the press release I had said March but I could be remembering wrong, or maybe it got shifted… Well, perhaps next year, then! I hope you like it when you get to it!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m curious to see the list this year for sure. I completely missed the whole shebang last year and still haven’t quite absorbed the fact that I’m a year behind! Heheh

    Like

Leave a Reply

